Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Bobby Allison to grand marshall and pre race activities for the 50th Coca Cola 600

picture from legends of racing
Release from Nascar.com

CONCORD, N.C. -- Fans will be witness to history even before the green flag drops on the 50th Coca-Cola 600, as Coca-Cola and Lowe's Motor Speedway pay tribute to the legends who have made the race one of NASCAR's crown jewels the last half century.

Thrilling memories will be on display as every former winner of the Coca-Cola 600 is honored during a special celebration prior to the 50th running of NASCAR's longest race. Serving as grand marshal -- and representing all 26 drivers who have taken the checkered flag at the Coca-Cola 600 -- will be NASCAR legend Bobby Allison, a three-time winner of the race (1971, 1981 and 1984).

Named one of NASCAR's 50 greatest drivers and a member of the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, Allison won 84 races in his storied career, tying him for third all-time with Darrell Waltrip.

In addition to delivering the most famous words in motorsports -- "Gentlemen, Start Your Engines" -- Allison is set to take a ceremonial victory lap around Lowe's Motor Speedway in the actual Coca-Cola-sponsored 1969 Mercury Cyclone he drove to victory in the 1971 race. The car is currently on display at the Memory Lane Museum in Mooresville, N.C.

"The Coca-Cola 600 has always been one of the most grueling events on the NASCAR schedule and I can honestly say that every winner of this race was a tremendous competitor," Allison said. "I'm proud to serve as grand marshal, to be a part of Coca-Cola's rich tradition with NASCAR and represent all the drivers who have made it to Victory Lane at this great race."

Many of NASCAR's greatest drivers are among the winners of the Coca-Cola 600, including Richard Petty, David Pearson, Donnie Allison, Dale Jarrett, Rusty Wallace, Buddy Baker, Marvin Panch and Fred Lorenzen.

God love the power of google, below is a breakdown of the pre-race ceremonies (well, the important parts)

5:00:00 Fox Live on Air
5:10:00 Intro Honorary Starter: Jim DeMint, US Senator from South Carolina
5:10:30 Intro Grand Marshal: Bobby Allison
5:11:00 Intro Honorary Race Director: Seth Hammett, Speaker from Alabama
5:14:00 Intro Past Champions
5:15:00 NSCS Drivers Intro’s with NASCAR Special Award (Lugnut, Miss Sprint Cups):
(Drivers exit stage left and take one lap in a Toyota truck (Drivers will be dropped off at their cars on pit road)
Coors Light Pole Award To: TBD
DirecTV Crew Chief of the Race Award To: TBD
DOW Automotive Strategic Move of the Race Award To: TBD
Moog Chassis Parts Problem Solver of the Race Award To: TBD
Goodyear Gatorback Belts Fastest Lap Award To: TBD
Mobil 1 Command Performance Driver of the Race Award To: TBD
Raybestos Rookie of the Race Award To: TBD
Mahle Engine Builder of the Race Award To: TBD
O’Reilly Auto Parts “People, Service & Performance” Award To: TBD
Wix Lap Leader Award To: TBD
Tissot “Pit Road Precision” Award To: TBD
5:35:00 Black Daggers Jump
5:45:00 Intro Presentation of Colors by: Ft. Bragg
5:45:20 Invocation by: Franklin Graham
5:45:45 Amazing Grace by: TBD
5:46:45 “21 Gun Salute”: Fort Bragg
5:47:10 Taps by: 82nd Airborne Division Bugler from Ft Bragg
5:47:55 Intro National Anthem (Troops Unfurl Large American Flag on Ballfield)
5:48:10 National Anthem: Jesse James
5:49:40 Fly-By TOT: 4 F-15’s, 159th Fighter Wing

5:54:40 “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines” by: Bobby Allison
6:03:10 Start of the Coca-Cola 600 (400 Laps /600 Miles on FOX)

No comments: