Saturday, February 13, 2010

Ch Ch Changes for 2010-they dont call it Silly for Nothing

Unless you are on the internet 24/7 searching for NASCAR gossip which we hope it is only us who have no may not be aware of some driver/sponsor/number changes for the Sprint Cup season. We will do our best to give you some info to make your 500 experience a little less confusing. The pictures that I have posted are the ones that will make you do a double take, i.e. the #43 not driven by Reed Sorrenson, that has a Best Buy sponsorship on it that is not driven by Elliott see what I mean. A public service from me to you that you dont go stalking after the wrong car!

#1- Bass Pro Shops Chevy now driven by Jamie McMurray

#2- Steve Addington will be the new crew chief for Busch not the Kyle but the Kurt. The Miller Light Dodge driven by Kurt Busch

#6- Donnie Wingo will be the new crew chief for the UPS Ford driven by David Ragan

#7- Robbie Gordon will have a new main sponsor (Monster Energy, for now) and a new crew chief (Iain Watt). Jim Beam will not return as a sponsor.

#9 -Kasey Kahne is now driving a Ford under new merged team Yates/Rousch

#12- Replacing David Stremme (and Coors) -Brad Keselowski has a new sponsor (Verizon) and crew chief (Jason Guy)
#17 Matt Kennseth will have a new sponsor in Crown Royal for 18 races. Dewalt Tools will not return.

#18 Dave Rogers will be the new crew chief for Kyle Busch

#19 RPM merged with Yates, putting Elliott Sadler in a Ford, unclear for Best Buy Sponsorship

#26 Replacing Jamie McMurray will be Boris Said, with Frankie Stoddard in the crew chief position for the Daytona 500 race. No Crown Royal on the #26 anymore.
#31 Jeff Burton gets a new crew chief with Todd Berrier replacing Scott Miller.

#34 John Andretti and Travis Kvapil have formed an alliance with Front Row Motorsports with this car, which is now a Ford.

#36 Tommy Baldwin will step down as crew chief to concentrate on the operational side of his race team. Mike Bliss is the new driver to this venture, Kevin Buskirk will be the crew chief and will now be in a Chevy. Wave Energy Drink will sponsor 18 races.

#37 and #38 Using the owner points of #96 and #98, the #37 will be run by Travis Kvapil for the 500 and Kevin Conway with sponsor Extenze for at least the next five races.
Both teams are now under the new umbrella Front Row Motosports with Yates Racing and have changed to Fords. #38 will have three drivers: Robert Richardson, John Andretti and David Gilliand. Randy Seals comes from RPM for the #38 and Peter Sospenzo will chief the #37. That car is also working on a deal to borrow owner points from the #44 and #96.

#43 is now driven by AJ Allmendinger replacing the ousted Reed Sorrenson. They have a part time sponsor with Best Buy for some races. They are in Fords...for now.

#49 David Gilliand for the 500 and Robbie Gordon for California and maybe more will run this car sponsored by Warner Brothers and Larry the Cable Guy. Stay tuned on this one...

#55 Michael McDowell will run a full season bearing sponsorship dollars and qualifying attempts. Michael Waltrip Racing keeps the team number and is helping Prism Motorsports out. Zach McGowan will debut as his crew chief.

#56 (formerly #55) Michael Waltrip steps out of the car after the 500 in the #51 to focus on the owner side of his business. Martin Truex Jr replaces him in the #56, Pat Tryson will crew chief coming over from his stint with Kurt Busch.

#71 TRG Motorsports gets a helping hand from Stewart Haas Racings pit crew and replacing David Gilliand will be Bobby Labonte. Losing that little engine that could image, TRG may or may not have a 2 car team this season. Slugger Labbe is out as he heads to the #98, and Doug Randolph, Casey Mears old crew chief will take the helm.

#78 Reagan Smith will have a new chief in Ryan Coniam, former engineer for Jacques Villeneuve and MB2 Motorsports. This team has also formed a technical partnership with Richard Childress. This team plans to run a full schedule in 2010.

#90 Casey Mears ends up with a ride after all, even if it is only for the first couple of races. Based on his performance, it may last longer. Doug Richert (Robbie Gordon) will be the crew chief. No permanent sponsor at this time is announced. Love the old school paint scheme!

#98 Paul Menard has a new crew chief in Slugger Labbe and will hopefully be able to retain his families' sponsorship for the full season.

All paint schemes courtesy of

No comments: